My life · Type 1 Diabetes

Romantic = Joe

Romantic: conducive to or characterized by the expression of love. To me romantic is Joe! 

Right after we got married we had plans to go on a camping trip with Joe’s family.  Not that I am a camper per se but I was really looking forward to spending time with Joe’s sister and brother and their significant others.  This was an annual event for them but would be my first time.

Joe had the honor of driving the Circus train through Milwaukee

Right around the same time that we got married Joe landed his perfect job, an engineer for Chicago Northwestern,  perfect except for the hours!  He was on call 24/7, carried a pager and once he was paged he had 15 minutes to respond and then two (2) hours to report to work! 

So when the weekend came to go camping he couldn’t get off of work! Again he was brand new to the company and we thought his official start time after he graduated from the training would be the following weekend. 

We were both super disappointed, we had all of our camping gear packed up and ready to go. 

So I went off to work that Friday morning, he had gotten called to work, so I wasn’t sure what time I would see him.  When I got home at 6:00pm, he greeted me at the door and lead me downstairs to our family room (we had a tri-level) I could not believe what I saw! 

He had our small tent set up, complete with chairs, a table, Smore ingredients, a cribbage board and everything else you could think of! 

I knew right then that I was the luckiest girl in the world, and I still feel that way 25 years later! 

Leave a Reply

