Type 1 Diabetes

#DBlog Week! What’s in my Closet, or in our case, Drawer.

diabetes blog week

Today’s theme: Yesterday we kept stuff in, so today let’s clear stuff out.  What is in your diabetic closet that needs to be cleaned?  This can be an actual physical belonging, or it can be something you’re mentally or emotionally hanging on to.  Why are you keeping it and why do you need to get rid of it?  

I’ve actually thought about this in the past.  For some reason, I am a hoarder of all things diabetes, when related to Joey. His JDRF and American Diabetes Association walk t-shirts, his ADA Tour de Cure jersey’s! It’s not like I’m going to make a quilt out them one day, although, don’t tell him, I’ve considered it. Joey was the WI ADA Youth Ambassador for 2 years, he did so many events, that I have documented through pictures and through the t-shirt or jersey that he wore for the event. His response would be “mom, I live with type 1, I don’t need a quilt as a constant reminder!”  My prayer is that one day there will be a cure, or the Artificial Pancreas Project will be available and we’ll have a keepsake with all of his fun events on it. I mean we met BRET MICHAELS (He really smells good, and who wouldn’t want him on a pillow case??)IMG_2086

20140530-200837-72517845.jpg

diabetes junk drawerAnd then there is the dreaded junk drawer! It’s so heavy that if you pull it out, it may well fall on your feet! Talk about a junk drawer.  It’s funny because I am sure that most people with diabetes have enough lancets to last a life time. I tell Joey we have so many because he isn’t changing them often enough. I usually change it at a 2:00 am blood sugar check. When I see that it takes more than once to draw blood, I change it.  We probably have 20 boxes of expired test strips that I am hanging on to for emergencies. They would only be used in an emergency, and I am not recommending anyone use expired supplies.

One item we will never get rid of are the red sheets on Joey’s bed! In the middle of the night when I check his blood sugar, he wipes the blood on his sheets. Sounds gross but it’s reality.  Love the red sheets.

Emotionally there is a lot of baggage that I carry, which will be cleaned up and worked out over time, but the way I look at it is this, when we take a trip and get home, our suitcases sit in our rooms for at least a week before we unload them. So as far as cleaning up my emotional stuff with parenting a child with type 1, I have a lifetime to work them out or even better, a CURE, so we can all leave the emotional stuff behind us.

Leave a Reply

