Type 1 Diabetes

Spring Cleaning: My Friends List?

It’s funny how the seasons of our life are similar to the ever changing seasons of the earth. With Spring (it will get here) I feel like I need to make some changes. Like Spring cleaning!

There is a lot of negativity out there, which unfortunately is part of life that we can’t control.

What we can control is who we choose to connect with and share details of our lives with on our Facebook page, Instagram, Twitter, and any other social media outlet that we use. We get to choose which people we call our “friends.”

I have had several talks with my kids on who they accept friend requests from! How do they know them? Do they know if they are really a kid or an imposter pediphile stalking them and pretending to be a teen? What we can control is our Facebook page and the people that we choose to have as our “friends.”

I have been pretty selective with my own friend list but I really need to keep up with it, clean it up once in a while. I am “friends”  with people that I have never met in person, but we have something in common, to find a cure for type 1 diabetes or we are on a journey to lose weight. I have received friend requests from old high school friends, given that I graduated 100 yrs ago, it’s a miracle we still remember each other. So is the fact that I went to HS with someone a reason to share my life with them? Or someone I worked with 20 years ago but lost contact with, and now they are sending me a “friend” request.  Is this a good reason? When it comes down to it, you are sharing your life with people that you don’t even know.

So as I start to Spring clean my house, I will also be cleaning up my friend list.

Please don’t be offended if you aren’t on my friend list after today. No offense! I just want to have people on my list that I have something in common with or know personally. I know that I have been unfriended by people, funny thing is I couldn’t tell you their names, because we weren’t friends to begin with.

When I find myself defending my posts with someone that I don’t even know, or want to know, it’s time to make some changes.

I realize and love the fact that everyone has their own opinions about politics, morals, parenting, religion, it is what makes our world diverse, and it’s fun to watch the reactions that others have to an opinion, but don’t bash me on Social media because I don’t agree with you and your choice for Governor, President, or sports team!  If you do, I will unfriend you on Facebook, no harm intended.

Today is about moving forward with “friends” that I consider to be my friends.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

