Type 1 Diabetes

Truth Is..

On my teenage son’s facebook page, I get a kick out of the “Truth IS” confessions of the kids. Here are a few of my own Truths.

Employer: Sorry if I come in looking as though I haven’t slept in days. Truth is I haven’t had sleep in over 4 years, since my son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes.

Friend: Sorry that I declined lunch today, it’s not that I don’t want to spend time with you. And sorry that I missed your invite to coffee this morning. Truth is I would love to have lunch, but had to go to school for years and dose my son with insulin so he could eat his lunch. Coffee would be awesome, unfortunately we were up at 12:00, 2:00 and 4:00 am checking blood sugars, so I slept in this morning. Anyway we could have coffee at 12:00 midnight, as I will need the caffeine to catch the next blood sugar.

Teacher’s: Sorry if my son comes to school yawning and sometimes putting his head down on his desk. Truth is that my son wakes up for every blood sugar check. He fights me if I try to check him as he sleeps. He has some sort of radar that wakes him immediately upon my sitting on his bed. If I go to gently take his hand, he pulls it away and stuffs it up under his body. One night, in desperation, I pricked his arm. He wouldn’t wake up, and I had to know if he was in a coma. Another time at 2:00 am, after struggling to wake him, he finally sat up and proclaimed: “this is all about you isn’t it!” I laughed and replied: “Yes Dear, this is exactly what I want to be doing at 2:00 am!” So please cut my son some slack if he seems tired or gently lays his little head on his desk. He’s exhausted.

Endocrinologist: Sorry if we don’t always come in as prepared as you’d like for us to be. Truth is preparing for your visit is terrifying to most of us parents. All the paperwork and logs needed are exhausting, and very stressful to have a two weeks worth at appointment time. I completely understand the need for them. How else can you help us change basal rates and insulin to carb ratio’s. So when I come in with the print out from my son’s insulin pump, please don’t look at me like it’s from outer space! It’s better than a hand written log! It’s exact numbers! Technology Baby! At its best! Please learn how to read them.

House: I know you aren’t as clean as you could be, and because of this we don’t entertain as much as we used to. The truth is, my house is clean, but not sparkling. I learned a long time ago that it’s better to make your house a home by living in it. And not being embarrassed if something is out of place when a friend drops by unannounced. By the way, with the addition of the two dogs, I don’t see you ever sparkling again.

Husband: Sorry if I am not as “attentive” as I used to be. Truth is, all you need to know is that I love you unconditionally, today, tomorrow and always. But when I say I have a headache, I really have a headache, from lack of sleep.

Truth is, I gotta run, nap time.

Leave a Reply

