Type 1 Diabetes

Santa, all I want for Christmas is a cure…

football, other stuff 157If you ask a “normal” family what they wish for at Christmastime, they might say, Peace on Earth, Good Will toward men.

When you ask a family that has been affected by a chronic disease what they wish for at Christmastime,  we all have the same answer, it’s simple,  A Cure.

I believe in Christmas miracles, so it’s my Christmas wish to have a cure for type 1 diabetes.

I see things from a different viewpoint since Joey was diagnosed in May of 2009.   Before he was diagnosed, I felt compassion for people that had the disease, as my own grandson was diagnosed 2 years earlier.  It wasn’t until Joey was diagnosed, until we had to live the life, walk the walk, that I had a whole new perspective on chronic illness.

Now every time I see someone with a health challenge, my heart goes out to them.  It’s not that I didn’t care before, but I didn’t really understand the heartache and painstaking effort that goes along with chronic illness.  And my compassion for the parents of the child goes without saying.  When I see a child that has a disability,  I often look to the parents, and think of their struggles.  Are they up all night? Do they fight with each other over the care of their child? Does the school give them problems? Do they have a supportive family? Does their medical team work with them, or against them? Is it a financial burden?  Do they ever get time to themselves to go on a date night?  Do they pray, like I do, for a cure?

The thing about type 1 is that you can’t tell by looking at a person that they have it.  They look healthy on the outside.  I think that’s part of our challenge, our disease can’t be that bad, because  Joey looks fine.  Look at him, playing football, basketball, running track, going to parties, sick kids don’t get to do all those things.  I’m not calling people with type 1 sick, but it is a chronic deadly disease.  It takes due diligence to be able to play sports, especially a physical sport, a  lot of blood sugar tests and pregame eating strategies goes into playing football and basketball when you have type 1.  And if you aren’t super careful, you can end up passing out on the football field, or basketball court.  That is also a huge fear of mine, that something will happen to him when he is doing something that he loves.  Every time he is out of my site, I worry about his numbers, and if he’s taking care of himself.

We pray that this is the Christmas that our miracle will happen, our wish for a cure will come true, for all the children and adults with type 1 diabetes.  Of course we also wish for Peace on Earth, Good Will to All men.

Christ our Savior was born on Christmas Day, to save us from our sins, and for the promise of eternal life, if this isn’t a miracle, I don’t know what is, so we have faith, that one day soon, there will be a cure for Type 1 Diabetes.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

