Type 1 Diabetes

Another Celebrity Dig on Diabetes

Did you see the Ellen show with Julie Bowen?  It was on 11/5/2012.  Ellen asked her about Halloween in her household.  I’m going to paraphrase, because I don’t have her exact quote, it went something like this:  Ellen:  “Do you like Halloween?  Do your kids get into it?”

Joey dosing for the carbohydrates in the candy he is about to eat. With Type 1 diabetes you count every carb in every food you eat, and cover it with insulin.

 Julie Bowen:  “My kids are practically prediabetic by the time the day comes around.”  (ha-ha, laughter from her.)

I thought it was interesting that they never cut away to see Ellen’s reaction.  I thought to myself that Ellen knows what kind of backlash that type of callous statement has associated with it, so she didn’t engage.

Some might think that I get to emotional about celebrities or people in general that make lighthearted jokes about diabetes.  I do, I feel like for every stupid comment or joke about it, we take 20 steps backwards for the disease. It hurts because my son has to endure ridicule because people think he has diabetes because he ate to much candy, or to many donuts.  I have to educate for his sake, and when I hear people joke about it, I want to scream.

Another reason that I get upset is because I spend so much time trying to educate people about type 1 diabetes, and the differences between type 1 and type 2.  I wrote a blog about it, I educate on my facebook page, I live it. I’m not alone, there are over 3 million people in the USA with type 1 diabetes, over 80 kids/adults are diagnosed every day here in America.  The researchers say that 1 out of 3 kids will be diagnosed, that’s a crazy number.  Julie Bowen has 3 children.  One of them was recently diagnosed with allergies.  She said that one of her boys was stung by a bee, while eating peanut butter.  So therefore, they aren’t 100% sure which allergy it is.  BUT, she is now trying to raise awareness for allergies, now she knows it’s not “just in people’s heads,” but it’s an actual thing.  OK.

November is National Diabetes Awareness Month, so if I can take one positive thing from her joking about diabetes, it’s that it has got people talking, what’s the saying, no publicity is bad publicity??

I did email the Ellen show, to let them know that I was very disappointed.  I’m not expecting to hear from them, but I feel good about getting the opportunity to once again, educate.  We have our work cut out for us.

Leave a Reply

